I just fell in love with quinoa

I have to admit… quinoa did not look appetizing to me the first time I saw it. To me it looked like (forgive me) fish eggs.

But it kept showing up everywhere.  And then people started pairing it with things I love. Pomegranate. Spinach. Oh my.

And then I started reading Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist and she has a recipe for breakfast quinoa with apple chicken sausage, onion, eggs… and I just had to try it.

I have all of the ingredients in my fridge and cupboard, but that’s not what I ate today. Today, as I looked at the leftovers in my fridge I realized I had some taco mix stuff (ground turkey, seasoning, salsa, beans and corn) that was left over from Mexican stuffed peppers and taco salad. Out of peppers and lettuce, I suddenly thought about the quinoa in the pantry. Would it go…? No …. would it?

So I tried it. Yes, I ate on the couch. And yes, I ate out of the container that held my leftovers. Don’t judge. Less dishes = happy me.

picture040

hooked.

Spontaneous Mexican Quinoa

The first three ingredients we’re already mixed together in my house. Feel free to swap out your favorite Mexican ingredients! I just used what I had but might add some cilantro next time. Also, I don’t deal with amounts… whatever looks good is what goes in. Sorry!

Leftover taco meat (I used turkey)
black beans
corn
salsa
cheese (optional)
sour cream (optional … I went back for seconds. First time I used cheese. Second, sour cream. Both we’re yummy)
quinoa

Cook your quinoa. Heat up leftover taco meat/beans/corn and add to cooked quinoa. Top with salsa, cheese and sour cream as you wish!

Leave a Reply

