what I’m reading

A little more than a year ago I wrote this post about the books I was reading (and going to be reading) at the time.

This stage of life doesn’t always allow me to read like I would love to be able to. Lately it has been one book at a time, and a lot of times I haven’t gotten a chance to finish the book! I read most books these days as eBooks borrowed from the library, and sadly it usually takes me much longer than three weeks to finish a book. By that time, the book has expired off of my nook and then I either forget to re-borrow it, or there is such a long wait list that I decide not to place another hold on it. Bah.

I love holding a real book in my hands. But these days those books are in real danger of getting peanut butter and blueberry juice all over them. And I am in real danger of forgetting to return them and having more late fees added to my account (which already has $9 on it. Oops). I am very thankful that my husband thoughtfully bought me a Nook around the time we started having kids :)

Somehow, and I have no idea how since life hasn’t really changed too much, I’ve found myself reading more than one book again, though! And I’ve also found myself being able to read at least one chapter everyday, which is so amazing for this mom of two crazy boys!

But I love reading books this way. Sometimes you need a little bit of silly… to not think too much. And sometimes a book that causes thinking and introspection is a very good thing. I have three (soon to be four) very different types of books that I am reading at the time and I love it.

Like I said in my last post, I recently discovered that I love memoirs! Some of them, anyway. The honest ones… the ones where the author has been graciously brave enough to be deeply honest. Humor and look-you-in-the-eyes vulnerable sincerity can be a tough balance. So far I have read Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle and Paris, In Love by Eloisa James and absolutely loved both. Melanie talks about the first eight years of motherhood and Eloisa about living in Paris for a year with her husband and two kids.

So far Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes by Shauna Niequist has both of those characteristics that I loved about Melanie and Eloisa’s books – humor and vulnerability. It is so so good. I can not do the book justice by talking about it here. Just go read about it.

Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

The second book I am reading is one that will probably take me a while. It’s just the kind that my mind can’t really digest quickly. I love what I have read so far, though.

Prayer: Finding the Heart's True Home

The third book is one I am reading just for fun. It is one that my husband picked out for me (he’s good at that… he once picked a book from the library that ended up being one of my favorite series!). Fiction is easier for me to read before falling asleep because my mind is usually on overdrive already, and fiction seems to help me let all of those crazy thoughts settle.

Crown Thief

In the spirit of supporting another mama with young children, I bought this next book with an Amazon gift card from Christmas that I’d forgotten about. I am waiting for it to arrive. It is a collection of poems by Sarah Dunning Park. I can’t wait :)

Happy reading, friends :) please feel free to share what you’re reading in the comments!!

One thought on “what I’m reading

Leave a Reply

