chalkboard painting {more kid art}

You’ll need…

a chalk board (I’m more comfortable being in the backyard than the front on the driveway. To see how I made my chalkboards, go here)

a squirt bottle (don’t use one that has had chemicals in it before. I found one in the dollar section at Target)

a piece of chalk or two

a paint brush (I used a spongy one)

a couple toys with different textures or shapes (a bumpy ball, a car to make tracks, a small cup… you get the idea)

bare feet (something I didn’t think of til his socks got wet…)

Now…

have fun painting with water and chalk. You can control how much water goes on the chalkboard by just spraying a little on at a time. We were outside for about an hour doing this! In between Eli getting up and running in circles, of course :) He is, after all, a little boy!

As a side note, I’ve started trying to reinforce confidence in Eli by saying things like “you are an artist!” instead of always saying “you are so good at art!” Or… “you are a musician!” instead of just saying “you are so good at music!” I never want my kids to wonder if they are “good enough”, or to have some imaginary standard of what is “good enough”. We do art, we are artists. It is not about the product – it is always about the process! And I must admit, I do this to remind myself, too… because I am always forgetting…

Leave a Reply

