a little bit of Christmas

Oh, my Friday Sneak Peek Friends… I still can not find my camera’s battery charger! Bare with me and those ugly pictures, please… I used my phone. My dying, hard-to-find-good-lighting-for-picture-taking phone.

We don’t have any store-bought Christmas ornaments. I’m not a huge fan of them. I used to love decorating the tree when we were little… but I honestly do not think that we had any two ornaments that were the same (or at least not very many of them). Each one, to me, seemed special. I’m not certain whether each of them had a story, but I know that a lot of them did. And so, I do not buy ornaments for the sake of buying ornaments. That’s just me :)

Last year these snowflakes were the only things that were on our tree… besides candy canes. They are just toilet paper tubes cut into 1-in rings, squished, hot-glued together, painted and glittered.

This year I made these ornaments, using the tutorial from Creature Comforts Blog.

And then these pinecones, painted with white, that I found on the walk Eli and I took the other day…

We have a dozen or less of each kind of ornament on our tree… but I don’t care, because my favorite part is the lights anyway :)

I also made a mini chalkboard in a frame the other day, as a white elephant gift. The glass in the frame was broken, so I took it out, cut a piece of cardboard to fit, and painted it with chalkboard paint. Somehow I forgot to take a picture of the front of it… but I DO have a picture of the back, where I made a spot for a piece of chalk :)

My own chalkboard signs have been changed…

I am trying to create a gallery wall over here… I want to change the pictures out of those frames (I do love them, but they are the only pictures I have ever had hung on that wall… and I get kinda shy about being in all three of them, even if two of them are from our wedding day…)

And as if that isn’t enough, I’ve also enlisted my husband’s help in transforming our entryway closet into a nook. Oh, he is so good to me. And patient. I’ll post more about that some other time :)


StudioJRU

10 thoughts on “a little bit of Christmas

  1. Great ideas for ornaments! I really like your chalkboard white elephant gift. That was very clever to put the chalk on the back. I also like how you use the chalk boards in your house!

  2. I love home made ornaments, too! But also the shiny glass vintage colors – German ornaments I guess! And what a great idea for the white elephant gift…I have all these old frames from garage sales…this would be a perfect way to re-purpose them!

    I have been trying to live out a simpler Christmas this year, too, and loving it…fewer ornaments on the tree, being very leisurely in putting the decorations up (can I confess I am wondering if I will be done by Christmas!?!) May your final preparations be so blessed!

    • Oh Cindy, I know what you mean! I’ve been wondering if our house will be decorated for Christmas BY Christmas, too! But then I decided to just let it be… art is the progress of it, right? ;) So why wouldn’t that count for Christmas decorations, too?? :)

  3. I love decorating with pine cones! What a great idea to use for a frame with a broken glass… a chalkboard! Love it! Your gallery wall is looking wonderful. A closet into a nook… yay! Great idea. Thank God for patient husbands! :)

    • Haha thanks :) The gallery wall is very much in an “in progress” mode, but I’m glad someone thinks it looks alright so far :) (And YES I am SO thankful for my patient husband!)

  4. I love the idea of making sure to keep each ornament special. I have a couple of grown kids now and I have to say I am so glad we have always made ornaments; nice to have them when the boys can’t be home for Christmas

Leave a Reply

