I guess I needed to hear it again

After reading this post by Ann Voskamp (and writing my own post)…

We sang this song yesterday at church…

 

 

We also sang Open Up The Sky by Deluge

And then Tom spoke these words (click there, and then click “listen” next to where it says “11-20-11 Submitted”)

And then, though I was planning on reading something else, I ended up reading part of the very last chapter of Linda Dillow’s Creative Counterpart. It is one of my favorite books… if you haven’t read it already, I highly recommend it! This is part of what I read…

There are difficult circumstances in the life of every person in every marriage. We each have a choice. When the hard times come, we can put up our fists and fight with anger and resentment, or we can give the situation to God and trust He will cause good to come out of even a bad situation. The first choice breeds discontent and frustration. The second breeds the fruit of the Spirit – love, joy, peace, patients, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self-control.

God promises to produce godly qualities in our lives as we properly respond to trials. “We also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us” (Rom. 5:3-5 NIV). Do any of you need perseverance in your live? Or character? Or hope? I do! God has asked us to respond to trials by thanking Him!

By thanking God for the unreliable and difficult circumstances, we are saying, “God, You are the blessed Controller of all things. You are sovereign and in control. I don’t understand all that is happening, but I thank You and trust You to teach me what You want me to learn, and to work it all together for good.” God commands us to thank Him and is pleased when we do. “In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thess. 5:18).

Giving thanks is different from being thankful. I am thankful for my husband and four children and feel overwhelmed sometimes with gratitude for them. When I give thanks to God for a trial or difficult circumstance, it is not a feeling of thankfulness but a decision of my will to choose to trust God and thank Him in spite of my feelings.

{Linda Dillow – Creative Counterpart}

Leave a Reply

