Chocolate Cupcakes for a milk-and-soy-sensitive tummy

I was too scared at first to try to make cake for my one-year-old without milk or soy in them. I’d never made a cake that wasn’t out-of-the-box. For some reason, the thought of it just seemed daunting.

So I googled {there is a red squiggly under “googled” … how has spell check not accepted that as a verb yet???} and called around and found a vegan bakery. The baker told me that she had a recipe for chocolate cake that didn’t have any soy ingredients in them that she could make. Yay! I’d call back later to order it.

Well, my perpetually forgetful mind forgot to call until, well, the day before his birthday. Not enough time for a busy baker to bake a cake.

So the search for a recipe began. And I found this recipe on earthbalancenatural.com.

I made both the cupcake recipe and frosting recipe, but left out the instant espresso in the frosting (it was for a one-year-old, afterall… but I can definitely see how the mocha frosting would be AMAZING on these cupcakes!)

Honestly? Probably the best cupcakes I’ve ever tasted. And I’m not bragging – not on myself anyway. These EarthBalanceNatural people really know what they’re doing. (No, I am not being compensated in any way for this… I am simply so thankful for their recipe so that my baby could have cake on his birthday!)

Here are some pictures to prove the yumminess :)

Leave a Reply

