book leaf tree branch

Linking up with Jennifer this morning! :)

I got the idea for this art from the nester, when she posted so many creative ideas to use book pages for decorating. I just so happened to have a couple of old books that I had tried to read but just couldn’t, so I tentatively started pulling out pages… which, you have to understand, was very difficult for me to do, being previously employed by a library!  So I used mostly the glossary pages and pieces from the introduction. I just couldn’t bring myself to rip apart the story itself.

It was pretty handy that the glossary pages had a line down the middle ;)

I did not have craft paper, but I did have some old Max & Erma’s takeout bags so I used those for the branches (going by another piece of advice from The Nester – I used what I had!)

I think it does pretty well at filling that empty space on the wall.

 

P.S. If you are wondering why I didn’t post the finished sock monkey hat from last week… it is because it is still not finished. I got kinda hung up on the ears… can’t figure out how I want to make them. If you have any tips, please do share! :)

22 thoughts on “book leaf tree branch

  1. I am loving this idea!!!!! I am thinking you attached the leaves to florist wire to put on your branch shape? I think that is where I saw a wreath with flowers from book pages Ive been wanting to make. I have the same problem. I cant bring myself to start-rip the book apart. My books are outgrown paperbacks my boys read, probably paid .25 at a yard sale. Still…. its a book. I used a similar paint color in my bathroom. I like seeing it in a big room.

  2. Hello, Carissa! I saw that post from Nester, too. You did a great job with your branch! I love to use old books in my art. If they are precious, I make color copies but many times I rip and cut away! Still loving and appreciating them, just in a different way :)

    • Thank you. I like how you put that “Still loving and appreciating them, just in a different way.” I’m going to hold onto that thought because I want to do more with the rest of the pages haha :)

  3. Wow, I really like the simplicity of this! I bookmarked that post by the Nester too, because there were so many great ideas using book pages…I haven’t figured out why they are so appealing to me yet…maybe part because I am a bookworm, and part because I love to repurpose!

    Blessings on your day!

  4. Wow! That is really pretty! I think if I did that I would have one kid that would go crazy and just start ripping books, one that just wouldn’t know what to do and the oldest would simply cry. LOL!

    P.S. thanks so much for your great comment on my “the Why” post. Honestly, when I think back I do get mad at that teacher all over again. It was such a frustrating time for us; however, I can say…I am grateful to her because if she wasn’t so out of touch I never would have mustered up the courage to home school my kids.

    • Haha.. yes, my 10-month-old grabbed the 2nd book while I was carefully ripping glossary pages out of the first, and began to half-eat half-rip the cover off. I think if I do it again, I will pull the pages out first without him around… especially when I have older kids! Or you could photocopy pages as Jennifer suggested :)

      I don’t blame you for getting mad when you think about what happened at school. I totally understand, in a I-haven’t-experienced-it-as-a-mom-yet-but-as-a-coworker way :) And yes, it is amazing what God can use to equip us with the courage we need!

    • hahaha… well thank you, but I just have to say that from the time that I spent on your blog and the fact that you have tags named such things as “exercise” and “running” I think I can safely say that you got all of the “fitness carissa” :) So I think we’re even ;)

      But in all seriousness, I love your blog! I am glad I stumbled across it :)

  5. I saw this too and thought it was such a fun project. Yours looks so pretty! I love it. And I love your beautiful blue wall! I was also using book pages this week! :)

Leave a Reply

