Crafty and apple-y goodness…

After much mental grumbling over the thought of having to use the pickiest, most bobbin-sensitive, old garage sale sewing machine ever – which was kindly given to me one Christmas by someone who didn’t know I already had a nice new(er) sewing machine (which is still back in Illinois, sadly)… I finally pulled the thing down from the closet, carefully set it up, and patiently (ha ha) wound… and re-wound… and re-wound the bobbin, stuck it in… and it worked!

I then got halfway through my project, ran out of bobbin thread, filled it back up again, then proceeded to forget how I got it to work 20 minutes earlier…

… but eventually I ended up with this!

Made with this tutorial for a Book Sling.

I still need to make it’s twin. And buy double curtain rod hangers. And attach them to the wall. After we finish painting baby’s room.

And now for the apple-y part!

On Tuesday night, Chris and I were watching TV. A commercial came on for Tim Horton’s, and all I had to do was say one tiny little thing about how the apple spice muffins looked sooo good, and Chris jumped in the car and drove to TWO Tim Horton’s just to find an apple spice muffin for me. Like I said in my last post, he’s good :) I don’t even have to ask, or even think about asking! And it might have been the best muffin I had ever tasted… until…

… my attempt at making something like Tim Horton’s apple spice muffins. The most exciting part was that I actually got to use the apples from the apple tree in our back yard! :)

The tree that I didn’t know was an apple tree… until it started growing apples!

Apple Spice Muffins

slightly adapted from http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/04/whole-wheat-apple-muffins/, which was adapted from King Arthur Flour.

King Arthur says it makes 12. Smitten Kitchen made 18. I made 16 (and that’s with the added apple pie filling!)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

dash of salt (I did not measure, just one shake from my salt shaker)

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/2 cup margarine

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed, divided

1 large egg

1 cup (8 ounces) vanilla yogurt

2 large apples, peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped

Apple Pie filling (I didn’t measure again… just used some from a can of store bought stuff, then refrigerated the leftovers. I suppose if you are feeling like doing everything from scratch, you could make your own, in which case I would estimate you would need less than a cup total!)

Preheat the oven to 450°F. Grease and flour muffin tin, or put paper muffin cups in the tin, and set aside.

Mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and set aside. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and add the granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of the brown sugar. Beat until fluffy. Add the egg and mix well; stop once to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl. Mix in the yogurt. Stir in the dry ingredients and fold in the apple chunks.

Fill each muffin cup 1/2 way. Make a small indent in the center of each. Spoon about 1 teaspoon of apple pie filling into the indents of each 1/2-filled muffin cup. Top with more muffin mix (I filled mine all the way to the top, and they turned out perfect – but I think the muffin tops are the best part!). Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup brown sugar on top. Bake for 10 minutes, turn the heat down to 400°F, and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean (besides apple pie filling… there shouldn’t be any batter on the toothpick). Cool the muffins for 5 minutes in the tin, then turn them out onto a wire rack (or just a plate) to cool completely.

Oh. P.S. I got the results of the glucose tolerance test back from the doctor. No diabetes! :) I am, however, anemic… which explains all of those times that I crave Arby’s roast beef sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

