crafty things…

So, somehow in the midst of my busiest two summer months (despite not having to work), I found some time to start something old and new…

I re-taught myself how to knit. Re-taught, because my mom taught me how back in high school, but then I discovered how to crochet (much easier in my opinion) and kind of gave up knitting…

… but I’m back at it now and made this very soft handwarmer – it’s twin is still in the making (and they are turning out just a tad big… probably because I strayed from her instructions just a tad and used 5.00mm needles instead of 4.00mm… I’m hoping if I wash them and put them in the dryer for a bit they’ll shrink up a little).

Yes, I know, I know, it is the very hot month of July. Why am I making something that will keep my hands warm!? I’ll tell you why. #1 – I found this really cool pattern that I LOVE and would highly encourage any knitters out there to try :) #2 – In the winter, when I am working on the computer all day, my fingers get very very cold… but Baby is coming in November, so I doubt I’ll have much time to make something like this in the more sensible knitting season that would be autumn.

This second craft is one that I am even more excited about, but had to wait for a book to come in at the library in order to start on it…

Stray Sock Sewing, Too by Daniel

No, apparently Daniel, the author, does not have a last name… There also exists another – his first book – called Stray Sock Sewing :) Personally I like the patterns in Stray Sock Sewing, Too better.

Zen Tiger

Isn’t he cute? Going to try to use these…

Chris' old orange soccer socks

One thought on “crafty things…

Leave a Reply

