on days when say they “mommy” every six seconds

I am blessed to have two little people call me Mommy, but sometimes it is just hard to not lose your mind on days when you hear “mommy” every six seconds.

Today I finding myself imagining that being a stay-at-home mommy (or daddy) is like being a one-man band… juggling all sorts of roles and sometimes literally juggling multiple children, too… except the kids, unlike the one-man’s instruments, have the free will to make noise when and as loud as they want to. In fact, I have very little control over them, or anything, at all!

But maybe all of this – not the literal noise but just the whole of the moments, the measures of life, even the hard ones, all strung together – if it wasn’t surrounding and all so close to my head, would sound lovely if I could just step back and hear the entirety of the song.

Today I am hearing only one measure of the song. It is abrupt and loud, messy and unimpressive, and up so close I can only hear it out of context… but the whole beautiful song wouldn’t be the same without it.

Photo07161106

2 thoughts on “on days when say they “mommy” every six seconds

  1. “if i could just step back and hear the entirety of the song…the whole beautiful song wouldn’t be the same without it”…sometimes I feel this about alot of life. That God’s got the big picture…but right now all I’ve got is the chaos and something beautiful has to come out of it right? I’m thankful for the reminder to step back and see it for something besides which it first appears as. Lots of loud noise, little people calling out your name…but when looked at from a bit more space…definitely a melodious calling out. Sometimes hard to get to that space of being a bit removed from the sound though…I hear you.

Leave a Reply

